Location: Home > Scientific Research

  Scientific Research

The annual symposium of the Institute of Geology

2018/2/7 16:16:29

 On February 5, 2018, the Institute of Geology convoked its annual symposium in the reporting hall to exchange academic progress. The purpose was to promote mutual communication and inspiration between all researchers through this conference, and to encourage an active academic atmosphere and enhance the overall research strength of our institute. More than 140 people, including leaders of our institute, academicians, scientific research personnel and postgraduates, attended the symposium. The symposium also attracted the attention of researchers from other institutes of the China Earthquake Administration system and the Institute of Geology and Geophysics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.
  Director shengli ma and Deputy Director Shan Xinjian chaired the symposium. Director shengli ma briefly reviewed the progress of our scientific research during the period from 2014 to 2017 and explained the arrangement and purpose of this academic activity. At the same time, he emphasized the importance of interdisciplinary communication within the institute. Associate Research Fellow Wang Weitao was invited to introduce the main presentation on "Tectonic Deformation Features and Space-Time Evolution in Northeastern Margin of the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau since the Late Cenozoic Time", which was the second prize of the 2017 National Natural Science award and was won by the team of Academician Zhang Peizhen. Director shengli ma extended his congratulations and respect to the winning team on behalf of the whole staff.

 The symposium concluded with the reports of the subject groups. 2017 was the assessment year of the subject groups of our institute. Each subject group has obtained many scientific research achievements in recent years, and achieved excellent grades in international SCI paper publication, scientific research project approval, personnel training and other aspects. Through the platform of this annual symposium, all the research personnel and graduate students learned from and communicated with each other. Fourteen scientific research personnel—Yang Xiaoping, Wei Haiquan, Li Ni, Han Zhujun, Li Zhiqiang, Zhan Yan, Zhao Panpan, Chen Xiaobin, Zhang Guohong, He Changrong, Liu Peixen, Yao Lu, Liu Jinfeng and Wang Wei—reported in turn on behalf of their subject groups, and exchanged new achievements and new ideas with their peers. The reports were wonderful, and the scientific research personnel asked questions and engaged in enthusiastic discussion. The report achieved the expected results.